Skip to main content

The Rotary Club of Ipswich East
The Rotary Club of Ipswich East
The Rotary Club of Ipswich East

Call us or email us directly and a member of our friendly team will get back to you shortly!

Meet the team


John Button: Club President

In my business life I am a Quantity Surveyor and Project Manager and immediate past senior Partner of Castons.

I joined Rotary to put something back into the Ipswich and Suffolk community that has been good to me. I have found over the years that Rotary can make a real difference to peoples lives on a local, National and world wide level. At the same time we enjoy the fun, fellowship and a real sense of achievement that being a member of Rotary and Ipswich East can offer.

I am a governor at St Josephs College, Ipswich and a Trustee of The Cancer Campaign in Ipswic


Nigel Farthing: President Elect

I have spent my life in the Ipswich area. I am a trustee of Suffolk Wildlife Trust and a governor of Ipswich School. I have a keen interest in sport and outdoor activities , but with age the garden has replaced playing rugby and golf and hill walking have become the principal recreational activities. I have an enthusiasm for local wildlife and local history.



David Knights: Vice President 

I was born in Darjeeling but have spent much of my school and working life in the Ipswich area.  I am a Director of David Brown & Co Chartered Surveyors and Estate Agents.

I am a Trustee of Ipswich Foundation Street Charity and joined Rotary after many happy years in Round Table to further links with the local community and ran our Community Service Committee for a number of years.  I have also enjoyed helping raise money for local charities and the fellowship of our membership.

In my spare time I am an avid sportsman and enjoy playing golf and watching football and rugby now that my playing days are over.


Tony Baker: Secretary

I came to Suffolk in 1992 having moved around the country as a fire officer. I wanted to put down some roots and make a contribution to my local community. A colleague introduced me to Rotary and my membership has been all I could have expected. It has enabled me to be involved in many worthwhile ventures in Ipswich with like minded individuals.

Tony is a retired chief fire officer who has also been a Member of the Suffolk Police Authority, a Non-Executive Director of the Ambulance Service, a Director of  Victim Support Suffolk and a magistrate for over twenty years. He is a trustee of a local charity and the secretary of a sports club.


Martin Westlake: Asst Secretary

“When not working in the commercial insurance broking business, my main interests outside of Rotary are coarse fishing, playing golf (badly), football, gardening, wildlife (RSPB and Suffolk Wildlife member) and foreign travel (as often as possible!)”



Neil Hewitt: Treasurer

Neil is a director of Scrutton Bland Ltd. He has more than 25 years experience as an independent financial adviser. He began his career originally with the Halifax Building Society, then with a local IFA practice before his move to Scrutton Bland.

Outside of work I am a keen sports fan and particularly enjoy playing golf. I joined Rotary to give something back to the local community but Rotary has given me so much more back including friendship and a real sense of achievement.


David Chittick: Chairs the Club Service Committee this Committee deals with the day to day running of the club.

Jo Banthorpe: Chairs the Club Community Service Committee that organises events to support, help and entertain the less fortunate in the community and advises on charitable donations.

Ross Lunney: Chairs the clubs Foundation Committee this Committee's remit is to seek opportunities to help people in need, both locally and wider afield.

Mark Harrison: Chairs the Clubs Fundraising Committee this Committee leads all of the Club's charity fundraising activities.

Liz Harsent: Chairs the Clubs International Committee which exists to promote better international understanding.

Janet Dillaway: Chairs the Vocational Service and Youth Opportunities Committee.